Alphabetical Listing Online Reference Databases

Information: 
962-2402

  Library Home Page  
  About Us  
Adult Services
  Youth Services  
  Teen Services  
  Reference Links  
  Friends of the Library  
  Event Calendar  
     
  LPL - Available at the Loveland Public Library or from home with a  Loveland Public Library card.  
     
  Logo: Indicates which links are to public websites  - websites  
     
     
     
 

 

 

 

LPL Databases available from the Loveland Public Library or from home with an Loveland Public Library card.

Click HERE for additional Internet Resources. websites  


A

B

 C

D

E

F

G

H

I

J

K

L

M

N

O

P

Q

R

S

T

U

V

W

X

Y

Z

      

LPL   Academic Search Premier: a multi-disciplinary database of peer reviewed journals providing access to citations, abstracts, and the full text of articles.

LPL   Alldata Online: An automotive database providing diagnostic and repair information. This database can be accessed only at the library.

LPL   Ancestry.com: Ancestry Library Edition contains more than 4,000 databases and two billion names and has coverage of the United States and the United Kingdom, including census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada and other areas. This collection and its content is a strong complement to HeritageQuest™ This database can be accessed only at the library.

Back to Top of Page


B                           

LPL   Bradford Publishing: Legal Forms

LPL   Business Source Premier: Full text business database including virtually all subject areas related to business.

Back to Top of Page


C

LPL       Christian Science Monitor Full-text content for a number of local and national newspapers, including The Denver Post, Rocky Mountain News, Coloradoan, Colorado Springs Gazette, Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, the Christian Science Monitor, the Washington Post and more.

LPL   Consumer Reports - MAS ULTRA: Full text articles from Consumer Reports from 1991 up to the most current 3 months along with other magazines that include product reviews.

LPL   Contemporary Literary Criticism and Authors: biographical and bibliographical information on more than 120,000 authors.  Includes critical essays.

LPL  CultureGrams - delivers concise and up-to-date cultural information on the countries of the world describing backgrounds, peoples, customs, lifestyle and society. It also includes reports for US states, a searchable glossary of over 4,000 cultural terms, a photo gallery, recipe collection and famous people biographies.

Back to Top of Page


D

LPL       Daily Camera Full-text content for a number of local and national newspapers, including The Denver Post, Rocky Mountain News, Coloradoan, Colorado Springs Gazette, Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, the Christian Science Monitor, the Washington Post and more.

LPL       Denver Post: Full-text content for a number of local and national newspapers, including The Denver Post, Rocky Mountain News, Coloradoan, Colorado Springs Gazette, Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, the Christian Science Monitor, the Washington Post and more.


E

LPL    Ebscohost: Searches nearly 1,220 periodicals on all kinds of topics.

LPL   Encyclopedia- Funk & Wagnalls New World: Over 25,000 encyclopedic entries, updated annually.

LPL   Encyclopedia of Animals: Full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals and usually the animal classification from family to genus and species. Some pictures are included.

LPL   Eric: The Educational Resource Information Center provides access to full text, abstracts and citations on education issues and resources from related journals.

LPL   Essay Finder: A database of full-text essays including biographies and literary criticism. Subjects include literature, history, economics, sociology, art and architecture, philosophy, psychology, science and drama.

Back to Top of Page


F

LPL   Funk & Wagnalls New World: Over 25,000 encyclopedic entries, updated annually.

Back to Top of Page


G


H

LPL   Health Source : Search for health related topics from journals and publications. 

LPL    HeritageQuest Online: Allows user friendly searches of U.S. Censes and book information on individuals. 

Back to Top of Page


I      

LPL   Infotrac Junior Edition - is designed for elementary school students, with easy access to full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, and sports.


J


K

LPL  Kids Infobits -  meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.


L 
LPL Learning Express -   


M

LPL   Mas Ultra-School Edition: Provides full text and abstracts of more than 550 popular, general interest and current events publications, mostly magazines, including National Geographic and Consumer Reports.

LPL   MorningStar: Morningstar Investment Research Center combines in one convenient database all the stock, fund, industry and ETF information necessary for in-depth research and smart portfolio construction.

Back to Top of Page


N

LPL       New York Times: Full-text content for a number of local and national newspapers, including The Denver Post, Rocky Mountain News, Coloradoan, Colorado Springs Gazette, Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, the Christian Science Monitor, the Washington Post and more.

LPL       Newsbank: Full-text content for a number of local and national newspapers, including The Denver Post, Rocky Mountain News, Coloradoan, Colorado Springs Gazette, Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, the Christian Science Monitor, the Washington Post and more.
                For direct access to individual newspapers, click a link below.

                Denver Post       Colorado Springs        New York Times

                Daily Camera      Christian Science Monitor

 

LPL     Newspaper Archive - This database can be accessed only at the library.

LPL       Newspaper Source: With nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, regional newspapers, and full text television & radio news transcripts.

LPL       NoveList: A fiction database that provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, and much more for over 135,000 fiction titles.

Back to Top of Page


O


P

LPL       Poetry: With full text of more than 125,000 poems and citations for more, searchable by subject, title, poet, etc. The "Kid's Korner" is especially designed for children.

LPL       Professional Development Collection: A highly specialized collection for professional educators including full text from many peer-reviewed journals.

LPL       ProQuest: Provides full-text articles and abstracts from both popular, general interest, and scholarly, peer reviewed journals along national newspapers.


Q


R

LPL       Reference USA: A directory of business, residential and health care providers that offers customized searching.

LPL       Regional Business News:   Comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications.

Back to Top of Page

 


S

LPL       Searchasaurus:   (EBSCOHost) provides information and magazine articles for children middle school age and younger.

LPL       Speeches:   A collection of well known speeches searchable by orator, and many other criteria as genre, timeline.

LPL       Stories:   An anthology of short stories including explanatory material and biographies.

 

Back to Top of Page


T

LPL       TOPICsearch:   Brings together full text articles from diverse resources on social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics.

LPL       Teen Health and Wellness:   The Teen Health & Wellness Database does a great job providing teens with information that is relevant to the issues that they face.  Beginning with the databases home page, teens are drawn to this interactive site.  Teens are able to read personal stories from other teens, as well as asking a doctor questions and participating in a survey.  They are also able to search by topic for articles that cover a wide range of interests.  Each article that is written is reviewed by a medical doctor.  Overall, this is a valuable database to have for teens.

Back to Top of Page


U


V


W

LPL       Wilson Web:   The Art Museum Image Gallery is a rich digital resource of over 155,000 art images and related multimedia from 3000 B.C. to the present, gathered from the collections of distinguished museums around the world; it includes coverage of artists, painting, sculpture, drawings, prints, photographs, textiles, costumes, jewelry, ceramics, furniture, glass, books and manuscripts, archaeological finds, and more.


X


Y


Z

Additional Internet Resources.

A

B

 C

D

E

F

G

H

I

J

K

L

M

N

O

P

Q

R

S

T

U

V

W

X

Y

Z

      

   All Readers.com: Read what others have to say about a book.

   American Rhetoric: the power of oratory in the US: Full text descriptions of 100 significant American political speeches of the 20th century.

    AMG - All Music Guide: Information about all genres of music from rock to reggae.  Search by artist, album, song, style, or label, and access articles, artist bios, and listener ratings.

   Artcyclopedia: A comprehensive index to museum-quality fine artists represented at museum sites, image archives and other Internet resources.

Back to Top of Page


B                           

    Better Business Bureau: History and information on business practices of companies in the Denver area. Spanish language access. 

    Big Charts: Both current and historic stock quotes available.

    The Booklist Center: The world’s largest collection of booklists, over 300 lists in 80+ categories.

    Books into Movies: This site lists movies that have been made from books.  Search by release year, movie title, book title, and book author.

Back to Top of Page


C

    Colorado Business Resource Guide: General Information to assist in the starting up and operation of small business, whether it is a new startup or established business.

    Colorado College Opportunity Fund:  Describes eligibility for the Colorado Opportunity Fund which helps pay in state tuition and provides details of how the program works. Informacion en Espanol

    Colorado Department of Education:  Information on state standards, programs and education reports.

    Colorado Eagles:  Colorado central hockey league.

    Colorado Judicial Branch:  Provides information about the Colorado court system, serving as a juror, a self-help center with legal forms, and more.

    Colorado Sales Tax Information Local and County sales tax rates, as well as, business rates.

    Colorado Secretary of State Business Center  Links to state business information such as business organizations, names, trademarks, and licensing resources.

    Colorado USGS Topographic Maps:  A National Geographic product, zoom in for details of Colorado topography, latitudes and longitudes, chart your trails. This database can be accessed only at the library.

    Colorado Statute Manager: Search Colorado Statutes and Court Rules by keyword or number.

   Commodity Statistics and Information Statistics and information on the worldwide supply of, demand for, and flow of minerals and materials essential to the U.S. economy, the national security, and protection of the environment.

Back to Top of Page


D

   Digging for Roots: Provides suggestions of where to look for records of those with family roots in Loveland including local library resources. Concludes with links to general Internet genealogy sites

Back to Top of Page


E

   Edgar: Security and Exhange Commission's Edgar database for company information and real-time filings.

Back to Top of Page


F

   FirstCall 2-1-1:  Community resource information and referral service connecting people to health and human services in Larimer County.

Back to Top of Page


G

   Geographic Names Server:  Enter the name of a place in the United States, physical or geographic features and find out its county location, latitude and longitude.

   Great Buildings:  A leading architecture site on the web with information on buildings, architects and places including outstanding pictures.

Back to Top of Page


H

  Hoover’s Online: Research company, industry and market information on over 12 million companies.

  Howstuffworks:  Offers information on how things work: computers, cars, electronics, science, home appliances, entertainment, health, money and travel.

Back to Top of Page


I 

         Information Please Almanac: Easily browsed or searched.  Includes this day in History, timelines, periodic table, conversion tools.