Books, Poetry, Essays, and Speeches

Information: 
962-2402

  Library Home Page  
  About Us  
Adult Services
  Youth Services  
  Teen Services  
  Reference Links  
  Friends of the Library  
  Event Calendar  
     
  LPL - Available at the Loveland Public Library or from home with a  Loveland Public Library card.  
     
  Logo: Indicates which links are to public websites  - websites  
     
     
     
 

 

 

 

Quick Links

 

EBSCOhost graphic

Click Here to Access Proquest Online 

Click Here to Access Newsbank Online 

 


 Booklists, Reviews and Criticism:   

LPL Academic Search Premier : offers many full text reviews found in journals, among them Booklist (from 2002), Library Journal (from 1975), Publishers Weekly, Kirkus Reviews and others.

LPL  ProQuest: offers many full text reviews found in journals, including the School Library Journal (from 1996).

LPL   Contemporary Literary Criticism and Authors: biographical and bibliographical information on more than 120,000 authors.  Includes critical essays.

LPL  New York Times Book Review (NewsBank): best seller lists, book reviews, etc.

                For direct access to individual newspapers, click a link below.

                Denver Post       Colorado Springs        New York Times

                Daily Camera      Christian Science Monitor

LPL       NoveList: A fiction database that provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, and much more for over 135,000 fiction titles.

Poetry, Essays, and Speeches

LPL Essay Finder (LitFinder): a database of full-text essays including biographies and literary criticism. Subjects include literature, history, economics, sociology, art and architecture, philosophy, psychology, science and drama.

LPL   Poetry (LitFinder): with full text of more than 125,000 poems and citations for more, searchable by subject, title, poet, etc.   The “Kids’ Korner” is especially designed for children.

LPL Speeches (LitFinder): a collection of well known speeches searchable by orator, and many other criteria as genre, timeline.

 

LPL Stories (LitFinder): an anthology of short stories including explanatory material and biographies.

 

Additional Internet Resources

All Readers.com: read what others have to say about a book.

The Booklist Center: comprehensive listing of award winning books.

American Rhetoric: the power of oratory in the US:  full text transcriptions of 100 significant American political speeches of the 20th century.

 

© 2008 , City of Loveland, Colorado