Dictionary, Almanacs, Atlas and Encyclopedias

Information: 
962-2402

  Library Home Page  
  About Us  
Adult Services
  Youth Services  
  Teen Services  
  Reference Links  
  Friends of the Library  
  Event Calendar  
     
  LPL - Available at the Loveland Public Library or from home with a  Loveland Public Library card.  
     
  Logo: Indicates which links are to public websites  - websites  
     
     
     
 

 

 

 

 

LPL   Encyclopedia of Animals EBSCOhost graphic: full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals and usually the animal classification from family to genus and species.  Some pictures are included.

 

LPL   Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia EBSCOhost graphic: over 25,000 encyclopedic entries, updated annually.

 

LPL  Colorado USGS Topographic Maps: a National Geographic product, zoom in for details of Colorado topography, latitudes and longitudes, chart your trails.  This database can be accessed only at the library.

 

LPL  CultureGrams - delivers concise and up-to-date cultural information on the countries of the world describing backgrounds, peoples, customs, lifestyle and society. It also includes reports for US states, a searchable glossary of over 4,000 cultural terms, a photo gallery, recipe collection and famous people biographies.

 

Additional Internet Resources

 

Information Please Almanac: provides quick facts, maps, encyclopedic entries from the Columbia Electronic Encyclopedia, definitions from Random House Unabridged Dictionary (1997), and synonyms from the Wordnet 2.0 thesaurus by Princeton University.

 

USGS Geographic Names Server: enter the name of a place in the United States, physical or geographic features and find out its county location, latitude, and longitude. 

 

© 2008 , City of Loveland, Colorado